Another island

from the train

How it looks & how I felt

After a nine hour flight that did indeed fly by (two good movies, a couple of half-assed-half naps, reading half of a chapter of my book, eating half a meal, and chatting to my seat neighbours for the last half hour), a two minute stop at customs (who knew it could be so easy to move to another country-only months of paperwork and preparation and not even a single question about purpose or plan! Irish/EU passport you were well worth the effort) & three busy train rides from Gatwick spanning almost seven hours, I arrived in Truro. It dawned on me how much easier it was than I thought; people at every step were so friendly & helpful, seemingly enjoying being a small part of the effort to get me where I was going. To help me arrive. The luggage seemed to become more and more lopsided and awkward the further into the trip I went. Maybe it was the near busted wheel, but whatever it wasn’t, It was a pain but doable, inducing a few knowing laughs or “been there” sighs. The gentleman from South Wales that I sat beside on the last leg of the train journey said “We do have shops here you know!” as he smiled and winked a cheerful “as if”. If only he knew what I didn’t bring!

Waiting in Truro

Waiting for the last train in Truro. Fifteen minutes away is Penryn. And rest.

up St. Thomas Street

Where I’m staying temporarily while I search for a flat is on one of the oldest streets in the area. It’s a lovely little cottage down a lane off this street, very similar to the first place I lived in Ireland but more spacious, warmer & with a 3 floor layout, entering right into the kitchen/dining room, winding stairs to living room with one full wall of a stone fireplace, bedroom and bathroom with skylights, then a ladder to a little loft bedroom with tussled sheets from the last guest. I would’ve been happy enough to rent this place if they had decided to let it but that was not meant to be. While wandering the streets of Penryn & Falmouth I decide that I want to be closer to my appointed studio and campus in Falmouth, and after my time on quiet Mayne Island, I rather like the old world bustle of the town.

Pickets Lane                                                                                                                                                                            For Sale

After days of searching online and walking the streets with eyes peeled for anything barely habitable, available and not floating (although I did check out a sailboat for sale -sans engine), I was rewarded with a free river boat cruise offered by the Falmouth Art Gallery. I joined a couple dozen artists and art enthusiasts for a two hour tour of the River Fal, my first introduction to the southern side of the interior Cornwall coastline. Gnarled oaks bend over and into the water and form a patchwork of velvety patterned rolling hills. Two five hundred year old castles, the cottage where Churchill signed a document that was surely very important, a chain ferry lyrically named the King Harry Ferry, some massive ships able to wait safely in from the English channel due to the depth of the estuary, a long narrow mussel farm with a legion of seagulls standing watch and a fine English bloke standing on the opposite shore, eager to greet us with his pure white back side were the scenes of note but I think it was the quality of light and several shapeless rainbows that captured my attention more than anything else.

Attention seagulls

Summer Meadow & mate

And tomorrow I find out if I get the flat that I hope to live in for the next chunk of time. There, the views are spectacular, the address is completely unique, it is a block from my new studio and I cannot wait to have an empty slate of a place to be, to live, to adventure from. For now, I say goodnight, and think fondly of all of you.

Evening on the River Fal

3 thoughts on “Another island

Leave a comment